In 1876, previous California Governor Leland Stanford obtained 650 sections of land of Rancho San Francis Quito for a nation home and started the improvement of his celebrated Palo Alto Stock Farm. He later purchased abutting properties totaling more than 8,000 sections of land.
The little town that was starting to develop close to the area took the name Palo Alto (tall tree) after a monster California redwood on the bank of San Francis Quito Creek. The tree itself is still there and would later turn into the college’s image and centerpiece of its official seal.
Leland Stanford, who grew up and mulled over law in New York, moved West after the gold rush and, in the same way as other of his well off counterparts, made his fortune in the railroads. He was a pioneer of the Republican Party, legislative leader of California and later a U.S. representative. He and Jane had one child, who kicked the bucket of typhoid fever in 1884 when the family was going in Italy. Leland Jr. was only 15. Inside weeks of his passing, the Stanford chose that, on the grounds that they probably won’t could do anything for their tyke, “the youngsters of California should be our kids.” They rapidly set going to discover an enduring approach to memorialize their darling child.
The Stanfords considered a few potential outcomes – a college, a specialized school, a display center. While on the East Coast, they went to Harvard, MIT, Cornell and Johns Hopkins to look for exhortation on beginning another college in California. (See note in regards to records of the Stanfords visit with Harvard President Charles W. Eliot.) Ultimately, they chose to secure two foundations in Leland Junior’s name – the University and an exhibition hall. From the beginning they settled on some untraditional decisions: the college would be coeducational, in a period when most were all-male; non-denominational, when most were connected with a religious association; and avowedly reasonable, generating “genteel and valuable subjects.”
On October 1, 1891, Stanford University opened its entryways following six years of arranging and building. The expectation of a New York daily paper that Stanford teachers would “address in marble corridors to purge seats” was immediately discredited. The principal learner body comprised of 555 men and ladies, and the first personnel of 15 was extended to 49 for the second year. The college’s first president was David Starr Jordan, a graduate of Cornell, who left his post as president of Indiana University to join the experience out West.
The Stanfords captivated Frederick Law Olmsted, the well-known scene modeler who made New York’s Central Park, to plan the physical arrangement for the college. The cooperation was petulant, however at long last brought about an association of quadrangles on an east-west hub. Today, as Stanford keeps on growing, the college’s planners endeavor to appreciation those unique college plans.